top of page

The Sponge We Knew Back Then

With "One Coarse Meal" and the thing with the splinter having scarred our brains, it's always nice to reminisce on back when Spongebob was actually someone we could look up to. I remember when the series first came to Nick, and I felt I found my best friend. As for Squidward, I found my very first crush (I still want to marry him to this day). With the new Spongebob movie having been far from my hopes and expectations, just thinking about the days when this guy had actually meaning can bring a tear to my eyes. The days before the show turned Family Guy on us and messed up all the morals. And especially characters.

Here's what you probably remember about the good ol' Spongebob:

1. When bubbles weren't used to harm people.

2. When the boss actually cared enough to give a free Krabby patty.

3. When the crankiest neighbor showed to be the most compassionate (and he made it VERY clear).

4. When getting argumentative wasn't for the stupid reasons that usually ended up in violence.

5. When the problem was actually figured out (and solved the right way).

6. When the genius wasn't insane.

7. When the teacher wasn't psychotic.

8. When the BFF wasn't the worst enemy.

9. When the dreamer wasn't the butt of every cruel joke.

10. When the whole town showed love (and not angry mobbing).

Spongebob Squarepants (c) Nick


Recent Posts
bottom of page